John Lennon’s “Imagine”

May 27, 2008 at 2:18 pm 1 comment

For years I’ve been going to use John Lennon’s “Imagine” as the topic for a sermon. Not just any sermon, but one that would blow everyone’s mind and go down in history as the greatest sermon ever delivered. Well, I’ve mulled the topic over many, many times and found myself easily sidetracked once I started reflecting. Consequently, composing that historic sermon seems history itself now and I am using it as a blog topic.

When “Imagine” came out there was uproar because Lennon was espousing things like; no heaven above us and no hell below us; no possessions; all the people sharing all the world. He was poking religion in the eye and promoting communism. Back then I found it easy to accept his idea of all the people sharing all the world but saying there was only sky above us and no hell below us, well I wasn’t sure about that. This was in my pre-church going days and I think “Imagine” may have been the seed planted in my inner being that one day prompted me to explore Christianity; to find out what it was really about; to discover the secrets of the institution. My journey has been exciting and enlightening since joining the church.

That journey has taken me from the “Give Me That Old Tyme Religion” stage to a place where I find myself standing at the verge of the “emerging church.” People have commented on how much my religious views have changed over the years. That makes me happy. Indeed the purpose of my preaching and of this blog is to encourage people to undertake their own journey and ask questions. Examine your beliefs.

I can now support Lennon when he says there is no heaven above us, only sky. I can now affirm there is no hell below us. I can see how there could be no religion too. How we live is more important than what we believe. Lennon wants us to imagine the world with no possessions, no need for greed or hunger, no countries, no war. He asks us to imagine a brotherhood of man (he was writing in pre- political correctness days remember); to imagine all the people sharing all the world. Hey, isn’t that what Jesus was talking about too?

This is a tall order for the world, but as John the prophet says:

You may say I’m a dreamer

But I’m not the only one

I hope someday you’ll join us

And the world will live as one.

Peace

Entry filed under: Wrestling With God.

Praying Progressively Summer Vision

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. conway23  |  November 7, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    Hello Mr. Jones,

    I must say that it’s quite interesting that you had looked at the song “Imagine” with the idea of writing a sermon about it. I am Catholic and just began a series of blogs where I will look at the song in detail and respond to it from a Catholic perspective. I must say I respectfully disagree with you that there is no heaven and hell, nor any religion; but I appreciated the chance to read your blog. God bless!

    http://catechismoncall.wordpress.com/category/lennons-imagine/

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Read Chase Now

Chase Rourke (As he sees himself)

CHASE ROURKE

Read draft sample NOW

Click here!

Blog Stats

  • 5,959 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers


