Just When You Thought it was Safe…

December 28, 2010 at 6:52 pm 5 comments

Here it is with 2011 literally just around the corner. I have been Jonesin’ for some time to let off some creative steam and thought scraping the rust off this old blog would be a good way to do it.

I am proud of the fact that when I took a rest from my weekly blog in 2008 that I had a fairly steady readership of about 180ish readers from around the world. Amazing! I’m contacting some of those folks from my last notification list and if you are one of them, thank you for your support in the past and I look forward to your support and comments again as we forge ahead with this new effort.

The focus of this iteration of Jonesin’ will be more general in nature but will still touch on the Spiritual from time to time. Mainly I consider myself an observer of the human parade and my job – to report the sights to you as they pass.

I know you’re dying to know what I’ve been up to these last years? Well, there have been a few changes. I have moved, retired, got fat, slimmed down, started working again and am currently in ‘fat’ mode once more. I’ve come to a peaceful place on my Spiritual journey. Most rewarding over these years has been my association with a group of writers who’ve just recently decided on the name, WriteBrain. In my case the emphasis is on write and not the brain so much but it is a wonderful gaggle of gifted scrivners. (See how talented they have made me?)

First, let me briefly touch on Spiritually. My journey has led me through Christianity and while there I was moved to bone up on other religions and beliefs. The end result is that I came to see how all peoples of the world are equal and the same, while all of humanity is only a part of a great wonderous creation grounded in some force/energy/Spirit that we can only ever dimly comprehend. Every religion has validity and every name for this Spirit, such as God, is only a tag for our own use. I love and respect Christianity for the journey it has provided me to this place of being a spiritual but not religious person.

I retired in 2006 and my aunt told me I was too young to stop working. As always, she was right because after I rested up I began looking for something to do. I stumbled upon writing. I had been blogging for years and a creative writing course seemed like a natural for me. After taking a basic class with Dorothea Helms and coming away with her permission to call myself a writer, I signed up for more. Sue Reynolds and James Dewar were leading an advanced class in writing and this class was to be the nucleus of what was to become the WriteBrain group.

WriteBrain is a magical conglomeration of people. We enjoy writing and being together either writing or socializing. This amazing group has been very supportive to me and I am very pleased to be among them. Each of us is at some stage of writing our first book and the laughs, learning and libations have all been memorable.

So here I am Jonesin to write again. About what … who knows – but keep in touch and we will surely have some enlightening times and as always a few laughs.

Thanks for bearing with me in this look back. It has helped creak open some rusty hinges and scrape a few barnacles off ol’ Davy Jones’ hull. Now, let’s hoist sail and see where the wind blows us …

Peace

Entry filed under: Articles.

A Revelation at Easter Send and They Will Come

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. drysump  |  December 28, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    Good stuff Dave!

  • 2. Dale Long  |  December 28, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    Good to see you’re back at the well! As always, I look forward to reading anything that rolls from your brain and out your keyboard, it is ALWAYS entertaining.

  • 3. Lisa Llamrei  |  December 28, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    We’re all glad to have you with us, too. Glad to see you blogging again as well.

  • 4. writefromthemind  |  December 30, 2010 at 11:21 pm

    aye aye captain

  • 5. boundbytheword  |  January 4, 2011 at 11:02 am

    As a fellow WriteBrainer, I agree with your senitments about the group. It”s amazing to be part of something with such creative force.

    And PS – your gift of this craft brings it to the table as well, so it goes without saying that I’m glad to see you blogging again!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Read Chase Now

Chase Rourke (As he sees himself)

CHASE ROURKE

Read draft sample NOW

Click here!

Blog Stats

  • 5,959 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers


