Hockey Fight in Canada

March 16, 2011 at 8:00 am 3 comments

The hit on Montreal’s Max Pacioretty has shone the light on the goon element in hockey. Although Zdeno Chara’s hit on Pacioretty looked clean to me I still have some nagging doubt due to the elbow action before impact. Rink design is the major factor here though. Sharp corners must be eliminated or padded. Unfortunately, hockey still ain’t what it used to be.

I remember watching the Leafs win the Stanley Cup. In those heady days I assumed they would always be near the top of the league and appear regularly in the cup final. We all watched bug eyed as they slid into jokedom. I’m amazed they constantly fill the arena. We must really love hockey to make one of the worst teams in hockey the richest franchise.

I was excited at the skills displayed by players in the old days. The skating, stick handling and blazing shots were a thing of beauty. What a thrill when Bobby Orr took the puck behind his net and skated through everyone to score a goal. Likewise, Gretzky was amazing to watch but in his era intimidation was a factor and he needed an enforcer. Nowadays fighting in the game has grown to a point where hockey is akin to wrestling or roller derby. All for the sake of making the cash registers ring.

I think the sport deserves better. The Olympic Games and those played under international rules are most enjoyable. Skill against skill, speed against speed. Galoots need not apply. The NHL needs to adopt this style for the sake of the game. Consider the skill set a player needs. He must skate like a whirling dervish, stick handle like a sword master and shoot like a canon while flying at top speed on narrow bands of polished steel over diamond smooth ice. Makes football players look like Neanderthals, baseball players like daisies and let’s not mention tennis players.

I want a safe, fast and clean game again.

Peace

© Dave Jones/ Thunderbridge Productions 2011

Entry filed under: Articles. Tags: , , , , , , , .

The Red-Headed Step Child’s Anger Synchronicity – The Golden Beetle

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa Llamrei  |  March 16, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    I admit I’m not much of a hockey fan. I prefer the daisies in baseball and … what does that make soccer players – buttercups? But I agree – the fighting in hockey has become ridiculous. Maybe I’d be more inclined to watch it without the fights. Or maybe not. No men in tight pants …

  • 2. rose527  |  March 16, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    I’m not a hockey fan, but I have seen the media reports regarding the fight, and I agree, it’s gotten so aggressive and way too violent, that when ever my hubby changes the channel to a game, after five minutes I leave the room.
    I’m with Lisa, I’d rather watch a bunch of guys in tight fitting pants. I suppose that makes me a daisy fan.

  • 3. Dale Long  |  March 19, 2011 at 5:46 pm

    I used to like hockey. I used to like the Leafs, but there is nothing to get excited about anymore. In the past there have been flashes of brilliance, Gary Roberts carrying the whole team on his back, Gilmore spinning around behind the net, Clark, Perrault, Nieuwendyk, Thomas. But now?
    While I don`t mind the fighting every-now-and-then, it has gotten out of hand. There seems to be no respect for the other players anymore. But the Chara hit? Rink design is the main culprit in my mind. There have been a history of exactly th same injury and yet no atempt at padding or even curving he glass there.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Read Chase Now

Chase Rourke (As he sees himself)

CHASE ROURKE

Read draft sample NOW

Click here!

Blog Stats

  • 5,959 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers


