Feverish Spring

May 11, 2011 at 7:00 am 1 comment

It’s been a rough spring. My weed and feed was in the garage, waiting for the perfect application time. The forecast was three days of rain, so with a break in the showers, I rushed to the garage, grabbed the spreader and opened the fertilizer; out dropped one big, smelly lump. I wasted a sweaty hour hacking it with implements of destruction until it was barely usable. I spread it hoping the rain would dissolve it. I rushed back inside and stared out the window waiting for the downpour. I stared for three days. In the meantime I wrote a polite yet scathing email to the fertilizer people who advised me not to use it but return it. What part of ‘it was very difficult to apply and constantly jammed the spreader’ did they not understand? Perhaps they expected me to go out with tweezers and pick it all up to return it. Confused, I turned my attention to the mower.

The minx at the mower dealer said someone would come ‘early tomorrow morning’ to get the mower and have it back in a coupla days. I stared out the window three days waiting for the truck. They came just as I sat down for soup. The mower’s been gone a week now and the feed has kicked in. I see what the fertilizer guys meant. I have lush green grass that is three feet high in several patches, normal height in a few places and burned off in most places. I may have to scythe the lawn unless the mower arrives soon. I’ve given up looking out the window.

For something completely different, I decided to see my mother on Mother’s Day. I went good and early and had been there about two hours when a police officer stopped by and asked why I was digging. I explained that I wanted to see my mother. He made me fill in the hole and promise to not come back. I can’t win.

Maybe summer will go smoother.

Peace

© Dave Jones/ Thunderbridge Productions 2011

Entry filed under: Articles. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

At Donut World, Eh? The U.S., Eh?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dale Long  |  May 11, 2011 at 7:50 am

    Bwahaha!!

    Give it a few more days. The skunks will come and uproot the good grass until your lawn looks a lumpy mess. I love nature….

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Read Chase Now

Chase Rourke (As he sees himself)

CHASE ROURKE

Read draft sample NOW

Click here!

Blog Stats

  • 5,959 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers


