I Don’t Believe It!

May 24, 2011 at 7:00 am 1 comment

I’m shocked! Bob Dylan is 70! Seventy!! Wasn’t it just a few weeks ago he was on the radio singing “Blowin’ in the Wind?” Where has the time gone?

Bob played Oshawa in late 2008 and I went so I could say I saw a legend. I was very disappointed with the show: lousy lighting, drunken crowd and only a side view of Dylan. I guess he only puts out the energy equivalent to the venue but to see him standing sideways to the audience and playing keyboard all night wasn’t my idea of a Dylan concert. I wished I was one of the drunk ones. But I’m glad I went. I paid homage to a legend and a hero.

When Dylan came to New York in 1961one of his objectives was to pay homage to his hero, Woody Guthrie, who was hospitalized there. I could see Bob touching base with Woody then carrying on the journey that Woody started. Bob’s journey did start there but took him down many and varied a road from Woody. However, it planted a seed in me. My main hero was Johnny Cash and I swore to one day visit him and touch base. (I finally did visit Johnny in Hendersonville Tennessee but I had waited a tad long; he was six feet below ground. I hope he still has my favourite guitar pick.) As I grew up I came to see that Bob and Johnny were cut from the same cloth. Neither was known as singers but both were poets and artists who touched the human soul.  

As history marches on, Dylan will be known as a true artist and genius of this age. He has refused to be slotted into any one style and has morphed into many personas during his career. While he follows his art and his heart I’m sure he doesn’t recognise how profound he is. One day his greatness will be trumpeted and if we were there to hear the accolades, we would say, “What’s all the fuss about?” Geniuses in their own time are simply people.

Happy 70th Bob. All I can say is, “Wow.”

 

Peace

© Dave Jones/ Thunderbridge Productions 2011

Entry filed under: Articles. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Literally Stupid

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. hawleywood40  |  May 24, 2011 at 9:06 am

    My dad introduced me to Dylan (which drives my momma crazy, since she never really enjoyed him), and I’ve always been glad he did. A poet for sure, and it really is hard to believe he’s 70!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Read Chase Now

Chase Rourke (As he sees himself)

CHASE ROURKE

Read draft sample NOW

Click here!

Blog Stats

  • 5,959 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers


