About Nothing

July 20, 2011 at 7:00 am Leave a comment

Dog Days: You know ‘em – those lazy, hazy, crazy days of summer. We’re right in the thick of ‘em. It shows.

To keep my finely honed writing skills in perfect shape during this time of ennui, I realized the need to write something for someone, somewhere about anything. I started at least three things today but after pounding away for a few minutes my mind wanders to cool water lapping on sandy shores while I sit in a comfy chair with a bucket of ice cold beer beside me. Sun is imperative but the squeal of gulls and puffs of clouds are optional. Hmmm … a light breeze and a parade of shapely young women along the shore would be OK too. While we’re at it, a nearby wagon stocked with juicy Debreziner sausages and fresh egg buns would be a nice addition. Don’t forget mustard and hot peppers. Oh yeah – napkins too. I better have a book to hide behind while I ogle the parade. Poetry by Poe maybe …no, too dark. People magazine would work. I better have some sun screen as well since there aren’t many clouds. That demands a nubile young model to rub it on. She can flip my magazine pages and open my beers to keep busy.

See how easy I get off track?

This morning I managed to get my shorts in a small knot over a lad from Georgia who was refused entry to Canada due to an infraction he didn’t seek a pardon for. However, that mellow old dog day mood soon sprung the gotchie knot and I moved on in tranquility. I began a lovely piece to be considered for publication but it isn’t due until July 30. No rush. I managed to open a new blog page but after looking at the blank screen for a few minutes, the white page morphed to clouds, then beaches appeared, lapping water … well you know where this goes.

So, here I am writing about nothing. I have no will to defy the Dog Days. I simply must go with the flow. I’m sure I’ll snap out of it soon. Or not, but that’s OK too.

See y’all soon. Bow Wow for now.  

Peace

© Dave Jones/ Thunderbridge Productions 2011

Entry filed under: Articles. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Ohmmmmmmmm… Myth Buster

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Read Chase Now

Chase Rourke (As he sees himself)

CHASE ROURKE

Read draft sample NOW

Click here!

Blog Stats

  • 5,959 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers


