Grand Thoughts

September 20, 2011 at 7:00 am 1 comment

Another two milestones were passed on life’s road last week. Sigh…  My oldest grand-daughter, Charley, turned sixteen. Bright and early on the day of her birth she was waiting at the door of the license office to get her motorcycle and driver permits. Wasn’t she just playing with Barbies a little while ago? Wasn’t she always bugging someone to drive her someplace? We visited her Sunday for dinner and she was bugging us again for a drive, but this time – she would be doing the driving! I was nominated to go with her and have to admit, I was a little nervous but was very pleased to find out that she is a great driver. She was textbook perfect and I was embarrassed for being nervous. She’s an amazing young lady and I should’ve known. I love Chuckie and am so proud of her.

The other milestone was my second oldest grand-daughter, Sydney, turning thirteen. She was so excited about finally becoming a teenager and crossing the line between ‘kid’ and ‘teen’. She and Charley were coincidentally (or maybe unfortunately) born on the same day which means it’s hard to make both feel special on their day. We were very happy to be able to visit Sydney on the day she had reached her goal of teenhood (alas, she wasn’t home – Hmpff). She’s a beautiful, wonderful, loving girl and continuously gives us reasons to be proud of her. She’s quite the entrepreneur and has operated very successful lemonade stands and currently has a paper route that she handles very responsibly. She is also a popular baby sitter. I look at her and can’t wait to see what she does next and what she will become. I love my Syd and extremely proud of her too.

There’s one other small milestone coming up this week. My littlest grand-daughter, Sloane, will turn three. I’m enjoying watching her grow up. She’s a character and has been a water baby from the start. Seeing her crawl, then walk, then talk has been great and she has one of the biggest, brightest, sunniest smiles you’ve ever seen. She is quite polite and will turn out to be an astounding young lady too. I’m proud of her and love my littlest girl.

I guess I just wanna say that I love my grand-daughters and am very thankful for them. Thank you to all the Mommies (and Daddies) for these awesome gifts. Sigh…

Peace

© David Jones/ Thunderbridge Productions 2011

Entry filed under: Articles. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

MY 9/11 Theory What Zup?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dale Long  |  September 20, 2011 at 8:14 am

    There is something magical about watching them turn from ‘kids’ into young adults and see the kind of person they become.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Read Chase Now

Chase Rourke (As he sees himself)

CHASE ROURKE

Read draft sample NOW

Click here!

Blog Stats

  • 5,926 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers


