It Bugs Me

September 27, 2011 at 7:00 am 2 comments

I had a whole wasp nest of annoying things in my mind yesterday and vowed to exorcise those bothersome bugs by telling you about them today but when I woke up, had my brekkie and coffee then settled at the computer, I couldn’t think of one of them! I put the power of the Internet to work hoping to jog my Monday morning memory and came across a ‘pet peeves’ list. After reading many of what must be hundreds listed there, I realized that most of them were just plain silly, like: ‘The sound of too much spit in someone’s mouth when they talk’ or ‘People at Wal-Mart Supercenter who enter thru the exit and exit thru the enter’. Check it out here:  http://www.getannoyed.com/  I’m sure that my pet peeves like ‘Old fogeys riding their scooter on the road like a car’ and ‘Lack of editing (spelling, grammar, missing words etc.) in Internet articles’ are genuinely most agitating to everyone. Yes/no?

It occurred to me that I may have been making much ado about nothing so I went to a darkened room, put classical music on low and lay on the cool leather couch while I analysed myself in particular and Western Society in general. (I’ll confess that I didn’t charge myself the full rate out of professional courtesy. I like a bargain as much as the next guy).

It became obvious to me that the pace of life today has everyone on edge therefore little niggling things take on importance that is way out of proportion. I advised myself that I should be cool and laugh at the foibles of lesser folk while accepting that I may have committed a few small bothers myself but then, live and let live, I say.

However, after cleansing my soul, I now find I have two peeves that will never go away: ‘I simply don’t not hate double negatives’ and ‘Women who leave the toilet seat down’.

Peace

© David Jones/ Thunderbridge Productions 2011

Entry filed under: Articles. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

What Zup? Doctor Dave is Dismayed

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dale Long  |  September 27, 2011 at 7:59 am

    Hahaha! Pet peeves?? I like to shoot the little blighters from my back step. I certainly don’t keep ’em as pets.

    Maybe I need my medicine. Two fingers of Crown Royal aught to do it. 😉

  • 2. Lisa Llamrei  |  September 27, 2011 at 8:10 am

    Yeah, most pet peeves are silly. But lack of editing – on the internet, in print, on billboards – now that’s serious.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Read Chase Now

Chase Rourke (As he sees himself)

CHASE ROURKE

Read draft sample NOW

Click here!

Blog Stats

  • 5,959 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers


